Josh, which of your wines are vegan (or vegetarian)-friendly?
Wine can go through a process called fining. Young wine naturally can be hazy to the eye, which isn’t considered to be good. Fining is the clarifying process to remove that haziness. The issue is that the fining agents used won’t always be vegan - or even vegetarian. There’s a combination of animal, milk, fish and egg proteins used for the process.
Good news though: there’s a lot of vegan fining agents now available, and with the rise of low intervention / natural wine, it’s becoming more and more common for wine to be vegan friendly.
I’ve had a few readers question whether their wines were vegan-friendly or not, so from now on I’m trialling a small demarcation to help classify. After a bit of reading, I’m going to use (v) for vegetarian and (v+) for vegan.
With today’s list for example, note Ciello Bianco’s v+, while only the riesling of those in today’s Taste made the mark.